Film and Digital Media

Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive single-volume encyclopedia on film and is considered the undisputed bible of the film industry. Completely revised and updated, this sixth edition features more than 7,500 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including:
Directors, producers, actors, screenwriters, and cinematographers
Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking Motion picture studios and film centers Film-related organizations and events
Industry jargon and technical terms
Inventions, inventors, and equipment
And much more!

This unique reference work is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are primarily academic and theoretical and those that deal mainly in technical jargon. Above all, it is aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in a variety of places--in film reviews, critical essays, interviews with filmmakers and stars, and academic and Internet publications. The Film Studies Dictionary contains around 1,000 entries ranging from terms that have always puzzled audiences such as "best boy" and "gaffer" to those required by specialist students of film such as "post-colonial theory" and "third cinema." It uses a system of careful cross-referencing and concise and up-to-date references to further reading for exploration.

Over 3000 film terms are defined in this comprehensive lexicon. The present work not only covers both film topics and technical terms, but does so more extensively by defining more terms and providing longer entries. With considerable insight the author covers topics from the Hollywood blacklist to basic genres, from major studios to cinema magazines. An impressive work of scholarship and a superior technical guide, this will become the definitive film dictionary.

An annual series of useful information about the films of the previous year. Includes brief biographies of people active in the business, credits for the feature films released during the year, and an index for technical data on the films.

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment. It includes terms from the complete lifecycle of an audiovisual work from initial concept through commercial presentation in all the major distribution channels including theatrical exhibition, television broadcast, home entertainment, and mobile media. The dictionary definitions are augmented by more than 700 illustrations, 1,600 etymologies, and nearly 2,000 encyclopedic entries that provide illuminating anecdotes, historical perspective, and clarifying details.