National US Religious Bio Dictionaries
American religious leaders by Call Number: Jones Ref BL72 .H33 2003ISBN: 0816045348Best for: researching prominent historic American religious figures, its worth consulting if the preacher you are researching was a person of national influence or renown.
Dictionary of American religious biography by Call Number: Jones Ref BL72 .B68 1993ISBN: 0313278253Best for: researching less well known religious figures. Prominent leaders are covered. But the circumscribed length of entries allows for a wider range of coverage.
Encyclopedia of American religious history by Call Number: Jones Ref BL2525 .Q44 2009ISBN: 0816066604Best for: researching national and regional historic spiritual leaders. Doesn't just cover the historical "A" listers. However, coverage is still highly selective and far from exhaustive.
Religious leaders of America.Call Number: Jones Ref BL2525 .R47 1991ISBN: 1057-2961Publication Date: 1991Best for: researching figures of national, regional prominence. This is one of the most comprehensive single volume biographical dictionaries of United States religious leaders of its kind. Many less prominent persons whose biographies are missed by larger Christian biographical works are included in this volume.- Religious radio and television in the United States, 1921-1991 : the programs and personalities by Call Number: Moody General Collection BV656 .E75 1992ISBN: 0899506585Publication Date: c1992
Twentieth-century shapers of American popular religion by Call Number: Jones Ref BL2525 .T84 1989ISBN: 0313253560Publication Date: 1989Good for: biographies of prominent Twentieth-century American religious leaders of various denominations and faiths. Strongest coverage of preachers but does include a few politicians and scholars.
Prime-time religion : an encyclopedia of religious broadcasting by Call Number: Jones Ref BV656 .M45 1997ISBN: 0897749022Publication Date: 1997Best for: biographies of Twentieth century American broadcast media preachers and evangelists.- Religious radio and television in the United States, 1921-1991 : the programs and personalities by Call Number: Moody General Collection BV656 .E75 1992ISBN: 0899506585Publication Date: 1992
Regional US Religious Bio Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of religion in the South byCall Number: Jones Ref BR535 .E52 1984ISBN: 0865541175Most useful for: researching religious leaders of the southern states. The strong regional focus allows for broad coverage of figures overlooked in more geographically comprehensive works.
Scottish Religious Bio Dictionaries
Dictionary of Scottish church history & theology by Call Number: Jones Ref BR782 .D43 1993ISBN: 0830814078
Imperial Roman Religious Bio Dictionaries
Fasti sacerdotum : a prosopography of pagan, Jewish, and Christian religious officials in the city of Rome, 300 BC to AD 499 by Call Number: Moody General Collection BL815.P7 R6713 2008ISBN: 0199291136
Sage, saint, and sophist : holy men and their associates in the early Roman Empire by Call Number: Moody General Collection BL805 .A64 1994ISBN: 0415023726
