Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Mobile Devices: Subject Databases

This guide will point you to the library resources that the Baylor Libraries subscribe to that are available in mobile editions.

ACS Mobile

ACS Mobile

ACS Mobile provides readers with a multi-journal, up-to-the-minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research content (Articles ASAPSM) published across the Society's preeminent portfolio of scholarly research journals, including the flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society. The application also includes a "Latest News" feed from Chemical and Engineering News – the Society's industry-leading magazine and preferred source of online news for its more than 161,000 member professionals.

 

 


ACS Mobile (ACS Publications)

ACS Mobile iPhone App available in the iTunes Store (small fee)

AIP iResearch

American Institute of Physics iResearch

iResearch was created to allow the user to read AIP article content offline and store articles locally. The application caches all content that it receives, and does require a wireless or wifi connection to obtain the content initially and to subsequently update that content. When you have navigated through the journals and are ready to download an article you may access them via your individual subscription, an institutional subscription (via IP authentication) or by using a pay per view account. If you like an article save it locally to your iPhone or iPod touch.

 

Journals currently included:
- Applied Physics Letters
- Biomicrofluidics
- Chaos
- Journal of Applied Physics
- The Journal of Chemical Physics
- Journal of Mathematical Physics
- Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
- Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy
- Low Temperature Physics
- Physics of Fluids
- Physics of Plasmas
- Review of Scientific Instruments
- AIP Conference Proceedings


About the AIP iResearch

Get the AIP iResearch iPhone app (free)

arXiview

arXiv for the iPhone

The arXiv preprint server gives you access to over a half million articles on physics, mathematics, computer science, and more. ArXiview is your portal on the iPhone to this wealth of information.

 

 

 


  About arXiview

   arXiview for iPhone in the iTunes store (small fee)

IEEE Xplore

IEEE

IEEE Xplore mobile app

IEEE is the world's leading professional association for the advancement of technology, and IEEE Xplore contains a comprehensive collection of full text documents, providing access to the world's most highly cited journals in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

 


  IEEE Xplore Mobile App: https://app.ieee.org/

Naxos Music Library

  Naxos Music Library iPhone app

  Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online offering over 500,000 tracks of Classical music,  Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. It includes the complete BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with over 1,000 albums added monthly.


Naxos Music Library iPhone app

NML iPhone app at the iTunes store (free)

 

 


 

How to set up the Naxos Music Library iPhone app

1. Log into the web version of Naxos Music Library via the Baylor Libraries' Electronic Resources Directory

2. Click on "Playlists" and then "Sign Up" to sign up for a new account.

3. Use the login/password information to login when you launch the Naxos App.

Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz iPhone app

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online offering over 500,000 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. It includes the complete BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with over 1,000 albums added monthly.


Naxos Music Library Jazz iPhone app

NML Jazz iPhone app at the iTunes store (free)

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari Tech Books Online provides access to the full text of more than 350 "Best of Breed" technology books from O'Reilly, Peachpit Press, Adobe Press, Microsoft, and other similar publishers.

 


  Safari Books Online Mobile-Optimized Website

Browse to http://m.safaribooksonline.com in your mobile browser

ScopusAlerts

Scopus Alerts (Lite) for iPhone

Whatever your science, when you're away from the lab but need to keep in touch with the latest research, use the Scopus Alerts (Lite) mobile app to:

  • Set up and review email alerts for your favourite searches;
  • Search across thousands of  scholarly journals from more than 5000 international publishers;
  • Save the important abstracts in one place for easy look-up;
  • Set up email alerts for when an author cites a particular article;
  • Annotate records with your own notes;
  • Share article links through email or twitter.

 iPhone app in the iTunes store (free)

 Scopus Alerts (lite)

Social Science Research Network

iSSRN

It provides instant access to the latest Social Science and Humanities research in the SSRN eLibrary from scholars around the world in the following subjects: Accounting, Classics, Cognitive Science, Corporate Governance, Economics, English and American Literature, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Health Economics, Information Systems, Leadership, Law, Management, Marketing, Negotiations, Philosophy, Political Science, Social Insurance

 


iSSRN for iPhone now available

iSSRN available in the iTunes store (free)

Unbound Medline

Unbound MEDLINE

Unbound MEDLINE contains citations to ~17 million medical journal articles found in MEDLINE® and PubMed®.

 


  Browse to http://www.unboundmedicine.com/medline in your mobile browser

Mobile MedlinePlus

  Mobile MedlinePlus

The National Library of Medicine's Mobile MedlinePlus builds on the NLM's MedlinePlus Internet service, which provides authoritative consumer health information to over 10 million visitors per month.


National Library of Medicine Launches Mobile MedlinePlus

Browse to http://m.medlineplus.gov/ in your mobile browser

E-Learning Librarian

Profile Photo
Liaison Librarians
Contact:
Moody Information Desk
(254) 710-6702

License

Creative Commons License
This guide is licensed by the Baylor University Libraries under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included.  I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702