It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Founded in 1997, this is the home of interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers. Here you will find information and links to assist with your discovery of our contribution to song.
American Composers Alliance, established in the 1930s, is a non-profit publisher of American concert music, past and present. With a curated catalog of over 14,000 works from a diverse group of more than 300 American composers of the 20th/21st centuries, ACA preserves historical works, introduces new works, and develops innovative ways to increase awareness, performance opportunities and public engagement with this unique catalog which is available worldwide in print and online.
As the US deals with the social upheaval of Summer 2020, a group of violists joined together in order to address significant disparities of representation in Western classical music by creating this database as a starting point for scholars, performers, composers, and teachers to discover solo and chamber repertoire for viola by underrepresented composers.
The following spreadsheet is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list. However, it serves to provide a starting point. Regular updates will be made.
Born out of the desire to foster cultural curiosity, Castle of our Skins is a concert and educational series dedicated to celebrating Black artistry through music. From classrooms to concert halls, Castle of our Skins invites exploration into Black heritage and culture, spotlighting both unsung and celebrated figures of past and present.
The CBMR's Library and Archives offers a comprehensive research collection of books, periodicals, sound recordings, printed music and scores, photographs, video, manuscripts, archival materials, and a wide selection of theses and dissertations on black music.
The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates.
- To inspire Black students to begin and continue instrumental training by showing them that they are an integral part of classical music’s past as well as its future.
- To make the music of Black composers available to all people regardless of background or ethnicity.
- To help bring greater diversity to the ranks of performers, composers, and audiences, and help change the face of classical music and its canon.