It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This multi-faceted reference database chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through essays, biographies, discographies, interviews, images, lyrics and scores. Covers a wide range of African American musical expression, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms.
Provides integrated online access to the ten-volume Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (audio and print editions available in the Fine Arts Library). Covers cultural music from all areas of the planet including genres, instruments, places, people, ensembles, and cultural groups. Includes audio examples. Alexander Street Press.
The most comprehensive reference work for music in English, with continually updated content. Searches Grove Music Online initially; on search results pages, provides links to more results from The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford University Press.
A finding tool used to identify individual works within scholarly editions published from 1720 to 2006, such as the complete works of composers and historical anthologies. IPM provides many ways to search -- by composer, editor, series, title, genre, instrumentation, and more. Once items are found, search OneSearch to see if the collection is available in the Crouch Fine Arts Library. IPM uses the EBSCOhost interface.
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 475 periodicals in all areas of music, including articles, book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Includes full-text access for some items.
Provides article citations and abstracts for all types of music, drawn from more than 600 publications that include scholarly and popular periodicals, books, and reference works. More than 20 countries are represented, and full text is available for approximately one-third of the titles. All citations from 1996 forward have an abstract, includes limited retrospective coverage dating back to 1874.
Indexes hundreds of thousands of publications on all aspects of music, including articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, conference proceedings, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries, and reviews.
Provides access to live performances of the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as hundreds of concerts recorded over more than 50 years. The site also offers interviews, documentary films, and opera performances. All of this content can be viewed with almost any type of device; free apps are provided for iOS and Android devices, as well as for streaming video players. Recent recordings feature high-definition audio and video.
Provides free access to musical scores (public domain as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge). Includes more than 37,000 works, 93,000 scores, and 2,000 recordings, representing the works of more than 5,000 composers. Searchable and browseable by composer, genre, time period, nationality, melody, etc.
Provides a unified platform for searching across all of the Alexander Street Press music databases, including audio, video, scores, and full text. Includes the following collections: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Music in Video, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Alexander Street Press.
Provides a great starting place for research, as it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12 500 journals in all academic subjects, including more than 8 500 full-text and 7 300 peer-reviewed journals. Other types of publications included in this resource are books and book chapters, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, reports, etc. Searchable by keyword, title, author, subject, journal name, and a lot more. Results can be limited by date, language, publication type, full-text status or whether a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed. EBSCOhost.
Serves as a digital repository for major research institutions and libraries to archive their immense digital collections and to ensure that the cultural record that these digital collections represent is preserved and accessible today and in the future. HathiTrust was founded in 2008 and includes content from the Google Books project and Internet Archive.
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines. For journals, JSTOR mainly serves an archival function, it contains recent issues for some titles, but for most titles the available issues are two years old or more. Can be searched by author, title, or keyword, with limits available for discipline, dates, language, type of publication, and publication title. No subject access is provided, so use other databases for subject searching.
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. Other dissertations and theses are available for purchase as printed copies. Included with this database is also ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - UK & Ireland.