It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Alexander Street Press.
Provides access to video of events in American history. Videos are from educational, public affairs, archival, newsreel, and commercial sources. Provides both the video and a complete transcript of the video, the transcript is fully searchable, searching within a video and viewing only the relevant section is also possible. Browse by subjects, eras, people, places, events, or historical eras from 1492 - 2000. Simple and advanced search features available. Create a free account to save playlists or clips and to receive RSS updates on new material added to the resource. No separate viewer required, able to send link of video to your mobile device. Playlists may be created in support of courses and may be private, shared within the institution only, or public, numerous playlists already exist (including playlists of analysis tools). Permalinks are available for playlists to embed in websites, Blackboard, etc. Alexander Street Press.
Accesses a searchable online speech bank which indexes a growing database of 5000+ full-text, audio, and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. According to leading scholars of American public address, the top 100 speeches in this website are an index to and partial database of full-text transcriptions of the 100 most significant American political speeches of the 20th century. The site also features speeches from movies, the rhetoric of 9/11, Christian rhetoric, and definitions of 40 different figures of speech, with transcripts and clips of examples.
Provides a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture through online streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. Searchable by people, subject, title and transcript/subtitles. Browsable by ethnographer, geographic location, cultural group, subjects, date (1922 to present day), people, content type and clips. Alexander Street Press.
Records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 is contained in the C-SPAN Archives. Programs are indexed and can be searched by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full text. The video collection can also be browsed by topic or program.
Provides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.
Provides access to a video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media (formerly the Museum of Television & Radio). The seminars feature industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, and much more. Full transcriptions and detailed indexing allow searching for topics, titles, or speakers. Logging into "My Research" allows for saving items and searches and creating and annotating clips from videos.
Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. High quality versions of films have been selected for the collection from leading distributors such as Kino Lorber, Lobster Films, Flicker Alley, and Image Entertainment. Alexander Street Press.
Provides access to 1000 of the top academic streaming videos and documentaries “solely for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study” (no public performance use). Simple search by film title, use advanced search for names of cast or director. Browse by title, release date, or category (documentary, war, sci-fi, etc.), includes some foreign language films. Links to films and documentaries may be copied and placed in Canvas to assign them for viewing by students. Registration for instructors required on first use (to gain additional functionality) and recommended for students for convenience.
Covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history with online streaming video. Includes live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances. Also includes new, international, and contemporary performances, ground-breaking documentaries, and critical instructional series for theatre and drama programs across the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience. Plays range from classical Greek to the 20th century. Alexander Street Press