Sociology

Brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Alexander Street Press.

Provides access to documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains about 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues. Alexander Street Press.

Provides an international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy and includes primary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video. The content is useful for teaching and research -- not only in the disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked. Topics include: employment, job training, government programs, social activism and activists, protests, laws and legislation, policy, transportation, patents, wages, sexuality, veterans, soldiers, industry, factories, accessibility, physical disabilities, mental disabilities, race, intellectual disabilities, gained disabilities, arts, deafness, blindness, identity, pensions, class, employment opportunities, rehabilitation, welfare and public relief, poverty, civil rights, education, medical model vs, social model, unemployment, athletics, and more. Alexander Street Press.

Provides a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture through online streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. Searchable by people, subject, title and transcript/subtitles. Browsable by ethnographer, geographic location, cultural group, subjects, date (1922 to present day), people, content type and clips. Alexander Street Press.

In an effort to enable indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives, the third volume of this ethnographic film series focuses on indigenous filmmakers. Alexander Street Press.

Provides a space for visual anthropologists of today to showcase and disseminate their work, with a focus on curating award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. Alexander Street Press

Provides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.

Provides access to a video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media (formerly the Museum of Television & Radio). The seminars feature industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, and much more. Full transcriptions and detailed indexing allow searching for topics, titles, or speakers. Logging into "My Research" allows for saving items and searches and creating and annotating clips from videos. Alexander Street Press

Provides digital access to primary resources from cultures and countries around the world across all time. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, prints and art, and sound recordings. A joint project of the Library of Congress and U.N.E.S.C.O. the site is arranged visually using a map of the world to indicate the number of culturally significant items available for each 9 geographical groupings. Each item is given a summary description which describes the item and it's cultural importance. The site may also be searched by keyword or browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, or institution. Language options for English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.