Sociology Reference
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by ISBN: 9781405124331Ten volumes containing 1786 essays arranged alphabetically, an 11th volume containing the index--provides students, professionals, and the general reader with definitions and discussion of terms, thinkers, theories, and issues pertinent to the sociological practice.
Reference sources are invaluable for defining key concepts, providing brief overviews of a subject, and identifying major theories and research developments. They can help provide you with the background you need to select and develop a topic of research.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 0080430767Maps the history, current theory and methodology of the social and behavioral sciences. Contains 4,000 articles & over 90,000 biographical entries. Topics covered include psychology, evolutionary science, genetics, behavior and society, behavioral and cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry.
General Reference
- Credo ReferenceCredo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to a significant number of reference works published by Gale. Includes works in all academic subjects, and includes encyclopedias, literary criticism (individual works, authors, and movements/genres), biographical dictionaries, directories, and dictionaries (of events, ideas, and movements). Most entries have the option of being read (includes downloading an MP3 of the computer-voice reading). Gale Cengage.
Book Catalogs
- OneSearch (Advanced search page)Use this resource for searching the library catalog, the Baylor Digital Collections, BEARdocs (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.), research guides, and much of the full-text subscription content.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowContains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally. Can limit by year, type of material, and other factors. OCLC FirstSearch.
- Sociology - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on sociology, the study of society and human behavior. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Bibliographies
- Sociology - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on sociology, the study of society and human behavior. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
- Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new windowOffers access to over 10 000 academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. Full text is available for subscribed sections, abstracts and tables of contents are available for all titles. New titles are added quarterly. The e-books can be searched by title, author, keywords, fields of study, publication year, and ISBN.
