Arts Center - Rare Sacred Music

We would love to collaborate with your group or class! Please contact us in advance so we can work with you to select the best sources and instruction for your needs.  The library will work with you to identify best resources and assignments that meet your objectives.  

Here are two resources the libraries use that are effective tools to help engage student learning with these unique resources.

Feel free to review previous successful assignments using our rare collections.  We are ready to help brainstorm ideas for incorporating these inspirational resources into your curriculum.

Course: MUS 5357 Congregational Song in Historical Perspective

Instructors: Jon Snyder and Samuel Tandei  (Jon Snyder was a 2021-22 recipient of the Special Collections Teaching Fellowship)

Outcome: Creation of a 'Hymnal Compendium' based on denominational reflection research using hymnals from special collections, and an independent research paper using hymnals from special collections.

Course:  A pre-class assignment for students viewing Medieval music manuscripts in class.

Instructor:  Sha Towers

Outcome:  Contextual and historical understanding of rare materials prior to viewing them in class.

Assignment:  A module is set up in Canvas that provides links to resources.  Students are instructed to review content in the provided links, and when completed, there is a place for students to write their reflections along with a question or two about the information reviewed.  This  module is intended to be completed prior to class, and students' reflections and questions are reviewed at the beginning of class.

The Baylor Libraries offer a variety of internships and fellowships that develop scholars as they utilize archival collections and leverage library resources.  

Special Collections Teaching Fellowships
Each year, the Baylor Libraries offer teaching fellowships to support excellence in teaching and learning and provide opportunities for original research by encouraging the use of rare books, archives, and other special collections materials in Baylor graduate and undergraduate curricula.

Affordable Course Materials Summer Fellows
The Affordable Course Materials Conversion Summer Fellows Program is an incentive program designed to encourage Baylor University faculty to reduce the educational costs for their students by using library content, open educational resources (OER), or other low- or zero-cost materials. In particular, it is intended to encourage instructor experimentation in high-quality low- and no-cost learning materials for their students, especially through the use of OER.

Active Learning Lab Fellowship
Offered in partnership with Baylor's Academy for Teaching and Learning, this fellowship aims to increase the implementation, awareness, and quality of active learning at Baylor.

Fundamentals of Data Research Fellowships
This intensive Summer Fellowship program is a broad survey of applied research methods and tools involving both structured (i.e., data tables) and unstructured (i.e., text, multimedia) data.