Guides: Country Information: Electronic Resources

User Info

Each of these sources is linked to its catalog record. From that record you can access the database, either from a network computer or by putting in your BearID and password when prompted.

Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Profiles

The Economist Intelligence Unit publishes annually country profiles that detail a country's politics, demographics and resources, and economy. You can access these reports online through Baylor Libraries by doing a keyword search in OneSearch for "Economist Intelligence Unit" AND "country's name" (e.g. "Econonomist Intelligence Unit AND South Korea").

Electronic Resources

Cambridge histories online
Columbia International Affairs Online
comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs
Europa world plus (Online)
Europa World is the online version of The Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which are indispensable sources of information on world-wide affairs.
Global road warrior
Provides international travelers with information on: international telephone instructions, cellular (mobile) phones, electricity, and satellite connectivity while traveling abroad.
more...less...
Includes country profiles, cultural information, demographics, money, points of interest, transportation, maps, and photos of most of the world's countries.
Mergent online
Country profiles are available through Mergent online. The pulled-down menu in the lower right allows for easy selection of country of interest.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide. This resource also contains several years of historic market size data for many consumer products in multiple countries in addition to 5 year forecasts for many items. Company information includes marketshare and brandshare information. Reports and news items cover current consumer topics. Euromonitor.

Statesman's year-book (Online)
Includes country profiles and a chronology of events. Browse by places, people, international organizations, or abbreviations.
World databank
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
World factbook (Washington, D.C. : Online)

World news connection This link opens in a new window
Provides translated and English-language news and information from non-US media sources throughout the world, including newspapers, periodicals, websites, non-classified technical documents, conference proceedings, television, and radio broadcasts. The content that appears in the WNC database comprises curated articles collected and translated by and for the U.S. Government.

World Bank eLibrary
Searches the World Bank's full-text collection of books, reports/working papers, journals, and other documents on social and economic development.This resource brings together, in PDF format, a fully indexed and cross-searchable database of over 5,500 titles, as well as every new title as it becomes available in print. The e-library consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers in addition to new books and papers as they are published. E-Library is fully searchable by subject, region, keyword, title, author, abstract, or year of publication.

Country Information: Electronic Resources

User Info

Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Profiles

Electronic Resources

University Libraries