Psychological Tests: Other Tests

Most recent is volume 9, 2008.

Dr. Watson and her colleagues have gathered all the available measurement instruments on caring in nursing in this book, along with discussion of their origins, development, and use. Nurse clinicians, educators, researchers, and managers will find this a valuable resource.

Behavioural medicine has matured as a field to the point where all recognize that different populations present different issues. Psychological reactions and patterns affect the health and well-being of children, as well as adults, and numerous standardized instruments for the assessment of a variety of areas of children's functioning are currently available. Yet, it can be difficult for practitioners and researchers searching through general compendia of resources for child assessment to identify the optimal ones to meet their particular needs and to choose among them. This reference guide sorts, presents and reviews all the measures that can be used to evaluate the behavioural, cognitive and emotional aspects of children's health. It organizes the measures under eight general headings, such as quality of life, adherence, pain management, and patient satisfaction. Each chapter begins with an overview of the underlying theoretical construct and any concerns about how to measure it. Descriptions and reviews of relevant instruments follow; these include information on administration, scoring, psychometric properties, and ordering, as well as comments by the instruments' developers.

With an increasing number of older people being diagnosed with mental disorders, this timely, authoritative guide will be of interest to everyone involved in assessing the mental health problems of the elderly and the effect that these may have on patients' functional ability. This second edition of Assessment Scales in Old Age Psychiatry is a unique compendium which summarizes more than 200 scales across the field of mental disorders in the elderly. Every scale is accompanied by information on the completion of each instrument to allow the reader to see, at a glance, the scope of the scale and its application. The book will help psychiatrists, geriatricians, neurologists, and psychologists in choosing an appropriate assessment scale to meet both their clinical and research requirements.

Combines the traditional twelve-step program with cognitive behavioral theory and motivational enhancement. New to the Second Edition is expanded coverage of psychopharmacologic treatment of mental disorders, intervention of family members, and prevention of adolescent substance abuse in conjunction with new information on gambling addiction and patient motivation. Using the American Society of Addiction Medicine chemical dependency treatment modele"the model used by the leading chemical addiction centers in the worlde"the author provides a step-by-step guide complete with informational handouts, patient schedules, and assessment plans for patient-types.

For the practicing neuropsychologist or researcher, keeping up with the sheer number of newly published or updated tests is a challenge, as is evaluating the utility and psychometric properties of neuropsychological tests in a clinical context.
First, the Compendium is intended to serve as a guidebook that provides a comprehensive overview of the essential aspects of neuropsychological assessment practice.
Second, it is intended as a comprehensive sourcebook of critical reviews of major neuropsychological assessment tools for the use by practicing clinicians and researchers.

"Handbook of Community and Home Health Nursing", 2nd Edition, is a compact, portable, easy-to-use reference filled with information and tools frequently used by the community health nurse in clinical practice. This indispensable handbook equips nurses to deal with the complex situations and diverse settings encountered in community health. The wealth of resource material enables the community health nurse to provide effective care for individuals, families, and entire groups in the community.

Volume 1 includes abstracts of 976 family measurement instruments cited in the published literature 1929-1986. Abstracts in Volume 1 and 2 are preceded by overviews, written by authorities in family studies that organize and review the instruments in each chapter.
Choice review says, "Three qualified scholars have compiled a valuable measurement guide on family-related topics. Almost 1,000 tests from the past 50 years are described, half of them from reports published since 1975. Recent entries include test title, author, availability, variables measured, description, reliability and validity, and up to four reference. ....Highly recommended as a helpful resource for upper-division undergraduate and graduate students and researchers interested in family topics."

This bestselling resource provides everything needed to assess the physical, mental, functional, social, and financial conditions of elderly patients. Authoritative, well organized, and easy to read, it presents multidimensional assessment and health maintenance programs, proven effective in the care of the elderly. Included are more than two dozen ready-to-use tests, questionnaires, guidelines, charts, and more.

Choice Review
This publication reviews four observation scales and 31 paper and pencil instruments for evaluating the attitudes and behaviors of persons within families and marriages. It is highly readable even by persons with minimal training in test construction. Each review contains complete or sample items from the instrument, and a two-to-four-page discussion of its format, administration procedures, standardization sample, reliability, and validity; information on where to obtain the full instrument, and an evaluation of its general usefulness are also included. The only topical compilation of this material, the handbook contains few references to the technical literature. However, it will be helpful for undergraduate and graduate programs in sociology, social work, psychology, education, child care, and gerontology.-C.T. Fischer, Duquesne University

The Handbook of Psychiatric Measures describes how to choose and use mental health/psychiatric assessment tools and evaluate available measures. These measures cover a range of assessment domains including: symptoms, function, and outcomes. Each measure is evaluated for its components, reliability, validity, and clinical utility, including its strengths and weaknesses.

The purpose of the Handbook is to provide clinicians working in mental health or primary care settings with a compendium of the available rating scales and tests that may be useful in the clinical care of their patients or for their use in the interpretation of treatment and services research studies. In addition, the manual is designed to provide guidance to clinicians, policy makers, and planners on how to select, use and interpret clinical measures. The primary audience for the book, however, is psychiatrists and other mental health clinicians.

The book considered a "necessity" by many social science researchers and their students has been revised and updated while retaining the features that made it so useful. The emphasis in this new edition is on the tools with which graduate students and more advanced researchers need to become familiar as well as be able to use in order to conduct high quality research.

Are you a teacher or guidance counselor looking for an accessible reference guide? This revised edition of a popular 1993 anthology includes 120 tests and surveys, bringing together psychometric information about instruments developed to measure constructs in education and social sciences.

Family studies scholars describe the use in therapy of techniques for the assessment of family characteristics and problems. Each author was given an outline to follow in order that a wide range of theoretical or therapeutic approaches would be coherently presented. Evidence for the validity of each assessment technique, suggestions for its practical administration and interpretation, illustrations by case example of its function and utility, and the actual questionnaire itself or instructions on how to get it are provided. The use of third party observers, and techniques for getting information from the family itself about marital relations or the full family structure are described

This volume offers a summary of the concepts and indicators in health measurement to date on the international, national, state, and local levels, and proposes new measurement criteria which can serve as a firm basis for further study by researchers, academics, and health professionals.
Choice review "provides a concise, comprehensive work on the basic elements of measuring health. Recognizing that the measurement of health is affected by how it is defined within various cultures and for various purposes, Larson reviews definitions of health that will serve as the basis for the methods of measurement, which are expertly explained in the succeeding chapters. Each chapter offers a survey of methods beginning with those that are more traditional, and continues with new and innovative methods at the international, federal, state, and local levels. Larson's critical analysis of standard instruments, with emphasis on mortality, morbidity, and disability measures, clearly presents the purpose, structure, and effectiveness of each method. In conclusion, the author offers his own proposal for gleaning the best of these methods to develop a more effective system of health measurement. The addition of appendixes of measurement instruments and the extensive use of expert references enhance this excellent resource for students of policy development, research, and measurement related to health. Upper-division and graduate collections.-M. P. Tarbox, Mount Mercy College"

This book provides a compendium of patient teaching tools for use in all areas of health care practice. They can be used for: Assessment of patients educational needs Evaluation of effectiveness of patient teaching Tracking effectiveness of patient care Improving quality of care by using outcomes to improve interventions

Each chapter provides a brief description of tool, its purpose, administration and scoring guidelines, information on research and validity, and the tool itself. Since the first edition was published in 1998, the number of instruments has nearly doubled -- this edition has 89 tools rather than the 52 in the first edition. Instruments included in the first edition were updated. If they had not been further developed or used in the past 5 years they were not included again. Health care professionals in virtually any setting will find this an important resource for patient care and research.
A sampling of the 37 new tools in 2nd edition:
The Diabetes Self Management Profile Asthma Knowledge Questionnaire Cardiac Patient Learning Needs Inventory Stroke Care Information Test Breastfeeding Self-Efficacy Scale English/Spanish Self-Efficacy Scale for Breast Self-Examination Chronic Pain Self-Efficacy Scale Osteoporosis Questionnaire Eating Styles Questionnaire HIV Knowledge Questionnaire

Today, as practitioners in all areas of the human services are increasingly held accountable for monitoring and evaluating their practices in an objective and efficient manner, a sound familiarity with objective measurement is more essential than ever before. In addition, practitioners must also be concerned with satisfying a dizzying array of state, agency, health maintenance organization, and insurance company guidelines.For more than twelve years, through two highly acclaimed editions and now in an updated and expanded third edition, Kevin Corcoran and Joel Fischer's standard reference,Measures for Clinical Practice,has enabled professionals to gather this vital information easily and effectively. In Measures for Clinical Practice, Volume 1: Couples, Families, and Children,and Volume 2: Adults,Corcoran and Fischer provide an extensive collection of more than 400"rapid assessment instruments" (RAIs), including many questionnaires and scales, which assess virtually any problem commonly encountered in clinical practice. Corcoran and Fischer have revised this edition to reflect new research and contemporary clinical practices.

This volume is sponsored by Division 9 of the American Psychological Association: The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues.****This is an essential reference book for any social scientist or student who uses measures of attitude or personality in his or her research. The earlier version, published twenty years ago, was to be found on the shelf of virtually everyone who worked in the field.Key Features* Serves as an update and extension of a highly useful book published twenty years ago* Employs a systematic standardized evaluation of 150 scales* Chapters on specific types of scales are written by experts in those subfields

Measures of Political Attitudes provides political and social scientists with the necessary information to best measure political attitudes and data. Containing side-by-side comparisons of relevant measures, coverage includes political ideology, democratic values, political tolerance, racial-ethnic attitudes, political trust, party identification, and more. Information in each chapter includes a systematic review of reliability and validity evidence as well as placing the scales into a broad historical and research context. Key Features * Comprehensive coverage of political topic areas * Review of measures in a broad historical and research context * Side-by-side comparison of relevant measures * Systematic review of reliability and validity evidence * Citations to original sources and conflicting evidence * Actual scale items

This is an excellent resource offering several options for measuring qualitative change in a wide range of formats. Each tool has its own area of application. Measures of Religiosity offers many different models for measuring spiritual growth and patterns. If you do any research at all in the psychology of religion, owning (or having your library own) a copy of this volume is an absolute must. It has all the scales that are important to the professional literature.

Contents The theoretical and technical foundations of health measurement -- Physical disability and handicap -- Social health -- Psychological well-being -- Anxiety -- Depression -- Mental status testing -- Pain measurements -- General health status and quality of life -- Recommendations and conclusion.

Offers a guide to measures of health and functioning, including measurements of psychological and emotional well-being, social networks, and support. Material on specific measurements offers descriptive overviews and information on content, scoring, validity, and reliability, grouped in sections according to what is measured. Other chapters cover the conceptualization of function, health, and the quality of life, and the theory of measurement. Includes a list of vendors. This second edition covers recently developed scales such as the Short Form-36 Health Status Questionnaire. For health professionals.

EBook
Publication Info: Atlanta, Ga. : Division of Violence Prevention, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2005.Publication Info Atlanta, Ga. : Division of Violence Prevention, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2005.

Ebook
Trevor Powell's enduringly successful Mental Health Handbook contains a treasury of photocopiable handouts covering many areas of mental health rehabilitation.

Ebook
This book offers both a comprehensive overview of the relevant issues and concerns and a practical set of clinical tools for neuropsychologists assessing and treating Hispanic patients.

In response to the demand for result accountability, the authors devised two instruments -- the Child Well-Being Scales and the Parent Outcome Interview. This book presents these measures, examines their statistical validity in detail, and serves as a manual for their use. State-of-the-art and prepared with comprehensive thoughtfulness and skill, the book has practical applicability for the day-to-day work of agencies.

Positive Psychological Assessment is a primer for practitioners and researchers striving to incorporate assessment of human strengths, resources, and fulfillments into their work. Contributors aptly examine the scientific underpinnings and practical applications of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humor, gratitude, faith, morality, coping, well-being, and quality of life. Vocational and multicultural applications of positive psychological assessment are also discussed, as is the measurement of contextual variables that may facilitate the development or enhancement of human strength. The variety of perspectives offered will be immensely helpful to readers who wish to incorporate balance into their assessments and research through the integration of theoretically grounded positive measures.

EBook
Contents Overview of depression -- A 10-step guide to selecting assessment measures in clinical and research settings / by Christine Maguth Nezu, Arthur M. Nezu, & Sharon L. Foster -- Assessment instruments. Measures of depression, depressive symptomatology, and depressive mood -- Measures of depression: special populations -- Measures of depression-related constructs -- Appendix A: Quick-view guides -- Appendix B: Reprinted measures.

EBook
This book provides clinicians and researchers with reviews of a compendium of instruments used for assessing children's and adolescents' behavior, social, or attentional problems in the school setting. Although the primary focus is on the evaluation of problems manifested in the school setting, many instruments reviewed are multi-informant and are used to evaluate children across settings. All instruments reviewed have psychometric support. The contemporary assessment of children's behavior problems has moved away from exclusive reliance on rating scale interview methods to functional assessment of children in the classroom. As such, a chapter on functional assessment, which refers to identifying the function of the behavior with regard to reinforcement contingencies, is included in the book Also included is a chapter on curriculum based assessment methods for evaluating academic skill deficits relative to the child's curriculum. This chapter is included given the increased risk of academic weaknesses for children with behavior or attentional problems.

Process evaluation is an essential component of any program evaluation or intervention research effort. This important resource offers an overview of the history, purpose, strengths, and limitations of process evaluation and includes illustrative case material of the current state of the art in process evaluation. Process Evaluation for Public Health Interventions and Research fills an important gap in the literature for public health researchers, practitioners, scholars, trainers, and students.

EBook
Popular focus:
Do you long for happiness? Do you worry too much? Are you content in your romantic relationships? Do you wish you felt better about yourself?
Now you can discover exactly what's stopping you from living the life you long to lead-and what you can do about it. Based on the latest research, this inspiring guide by renowned author and psychologist Dr. Louis Janda presents twenty-four psychological tests that will help you identify the barriers standing between you and a more fulfilling personal and professional life-and figure out how you can overcome them. Developed by behavioral researchers for professional use, these tests are divided into three sections-personal barriers, interpersonal barriers, and one's capacity for change-and cover every aspect of personality, from self-esteem, impulsiveness, and self-efficacy, to intimacy, anger, and romantic relationships. Best of all, at the end of each test, Dr. Janda provides expert advice that will help you use your results to make changes for yourself or help you decide whether you should seek professional help. Refreshingly candid and insightful, The Psychologist's Book of Personality Tests will not only help you achieve greater personal and professional success-it will show you how to get what you want out of life.

Choice Review

The bulk of this volume by Sajatovic and Ramirez (both, Case Western Reserve Univ.) comprises reviews of about 120 frequently used rating scales for mental health measurement, often including sample questions or the full test itself. The scales are organized into 20 categories, including anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, psychosis, global psychopathology, social and family functioning, and more. Additional finding aids include indexes by test name and abbreviation. Each rating scale review features an overview with strengths and weaknesses noted, a brief description of what is measured, statistical properties of the scale, the copyright holder (if any), and the time required to administer the scale. Each review also includes bibliographic references to the scale and to at least one representative study using it. The book opens with a short summary of the history and purpose of ratings in psychiatry and continues with an overview of the psychiatric interview in relation to the use of rating scales. The introductory material also features a section on statistical evaluation of the outcome data and two vignettes on the use of rating scales. This volume is a useful, concise, practical reference for frequently used tests in mental health measurement. Summing Up: Essential. Upper-division undergraduates through professionals/practitioners. M. Sylvia St. Mary's University

3 volumes

1967

"Beere has written another useful reference book. This latest is actually a continuation of Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures (Greenwood Press, 1990). . . . [This book] identifies 197 tests on many different topics including sexuality, pregnancy and childbirth, contraception and abortion, and eating disorders. . . . Students and faculty will find Sex and Gender Issues worthwhile and easy to use. Highly recommended for four-year college and university libraries." Choice

1967

A text for practitioners, researchers, and instructors in the mental health field, presenting over 70 scales on a wide range of adult mental disorders, reviews of their psychometric properties, and user instructions. The scales include self-report, observer-based, and clinician-rating measures. The scales are presented in an order paralleling the structure of DSM-IV. The authors provide practical information about each scale, including purpose and development, administration and scoring, sample and cutoff scores, reliability, validity, and actual scale items. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

EBook
Help your clients find the path to overcoming their addictionAlcoholics are one of the most difficult client groups to treat effectively. To preserve their way of life, they may lie about their problem or deny that one exists; that is the nature of this profoundly powerful disease. Yet if you can guide each of your clients through their own resistance towards the truth, not only will you be rewarded with starting them on the road to recovery, you will no doubt have saved their life as well. Achieving such a victory goes to the heart of being an addiction counselor; it is the experience of healing on a direct and tangible level.Treating Alcoholism provides a complete road map for assessing, diagnosing, and treating this multifaceted and tenacious illness. Detailed clinical information on the disease accompanies ready-to-use tools for practice. With a special emphasis on the 12 Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous, the author walks you through the first five steps of this established methodology in comprehensive detail, showing how to easily apply each one to treatment.Other useful resources in Treating Alcoholism include: A sample treatment plan Copies of alcohol screening tests (SMAST and CAGE questionnaires) Tests for other potentially related problems such as gambling and sexual addiction A sample behavioral contract for use with adolescents Listings of additional resources The treatment of alcoholism is fraught with struggles and hazards for both client and caregiver. Written in a lively tone that resonates with the author's compassion for his own clients, Treating Alcoholism gives you reliable, up-to-date, and practice-tested information and materials you need to successfully confront this deadly disease and start your clients on the path to recovery.