Guides: HIS 4319 Capstone in U.S. History: Background Information

How to search for Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in OneSearch

Using the Advanced Search in OneSearch, you can enter your keywords (the subject for which you are looking for a dictionary or encyclopedia) on the first line and then put "Encyclopedias" or "Dictionaries" on the next line and in the "Any Field" drop down box, choose "Subject." On the right hand side, under "Material type" choose "Books."

Digital Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of African American history 1619-1895 from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass
"In nearly 700 entries, this set documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass, and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans."
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century
"Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape."

Biography

American national biography online This link opens in a new window
Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods.

Oxford Bibliographies

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes.
African American studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African-American culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
African studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.

HIS 4319 Capstone in U.S. History

Oxford African American Studies Center

How to search for Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in OneSearch

Digital Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Biography

Oxford Bibliographies

University Libraries