MH-Racial Disparities/Healthcare

“There is nothing in medicine comparable to Newton’s Laws of Motion that has stood the test of time for approximately 350 years. What has stood the test of time is the Hippocratic oath, which concerns ethics, not knowledge. The state of knowledge is constantly evolving and even knowledge that seems reliable and verifiable at one point is rapidly debunked.” (Elish, 2018) 

ELISH, M.C. (2018), The Stakes of Uncertainty: Developing and Integrating Machine Learning in Clinical Care. Ethnographic Praxis in Industry Conference Proceedings, 2018: 364-380. https://doi.org/10.1111/1559-8918.2018.01213

General Research 

• Oxford reference This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to all of the Oxford dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference materials to which Baylor Libraries subscribe. Browse by subject (art, film studies, literature, etc.) or by reference type (timeline and quotation seem most helpful), or search for specific keyword(s) to locate entries across subjects. Browse feature limits results to those items owned by Baylor, keyword search returns results from all Oxford resources and you will want to use the limits to “free” and “unlocked” resources to access what Baylor owns. Overview pages provide a definition and summation of the topic searched with links to specific resources. Search results may be limited by specific subject, by content (quick reference or reference sources), and by sources with visual images.

• Wellcome Collection This link opens in a new window

  Provides contemporary and historical digital images and stories pertaining to health and the human living condition.

• Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window

  Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes. 

• Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment This link opens in a new window

  Focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment. 

• Credo This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. 

• Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window

  Provides online access to a significant number of books and reference works published by Gale. 

• Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This link opens in a new window

  over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies

Racial Disparities 

• Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to a collection of scholarship available online focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African Americans and African American history and culture. 

  Anthropology - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window

  Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Anthropology. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.

• Policy Commons This link opens in a new window

  Digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries. Individual user account required - see more for account setup information.

• Encyclopedia of social work This link opens in a new window

  Provides over overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly. 

• Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Angela Doolin (Editor) by Angela Doodin

  ISBN: 9780028661742

  Publication Date: 2013-02-15

  "In more than 1,800 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 1,2000 words, The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that, gave rise and continue to foster racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the US and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance, and this work is designed to bring vetted and accessible facts and analysis to experts and students as well as lay readers. "