10 minute rule
Other Medical Humanities Library Guides
- Medical Humanities -Rare Books & ManuscriptsRare books and manuscripts in our collection
Multidisciplinary Science Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
***Scopus AI add-on will be available starting January 2025*** Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts, articles, and full text of journals and books published by Elsevier in physical science and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities
Subject areas include (chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, energy, engineering, materials science, mathematics, physics and astronomy), (agricultural and biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, and neuroscience), (medicine and dentistry, nursing and health professions, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutical science, veterinary science and veterinary medicine), and (arts and humanities, business, management and accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics and finance, psychology, social sciences).
Multidisciplinary Humanities Resources
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
- MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- LitMed: Literature Arts Medicine Database This link opens in a new window
Compiled by NYU Langone Health, “The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed) is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities.”
- Humanities source This link opens in a new window
Indexes the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- Humanities full text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities.
Medical Databases
- MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains material not yet indexed in Medline.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data and some full text for scholarly literature in nursing and allied health professions.
- Gale OneFile Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and reports covering nursing and allied healthcare intended primarily for academic researchers.
- Gale OneFile Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Pprovides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
- Health source : nursing/academic edition This link opens in a new window
Provides citation and some full text of scholarly journal articles in medicine.
- Global health This link opens in a new window
Provides information, including academic journal articles, on global health-related topics.
- Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- Embase This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographical information for scholarly material in biomedical and pharmacological sciences.
- MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
Philosophy/Religion/Ethics Databases
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Indexes comprehensively scholarly and non-scholarly journals in religion and theology.
- Philosopher's index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. For access to the scholarly journal literature of Philosophy, this index is the most important available.
Psychology/Sociology/Social Work Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems.
