MUS 4280 Senior Seminar/Paper

The most comprehensive reference work for music in English, with continually updated content. Searches Grove Music Online initially; on search results pages, provides links to more results from The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford University Press.

Offers thousands of pages of reference materials on western classical music from many sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference works on individual composers, etc. Spans the entire history of Western classical music, and brings together in one database authoritative reference titles like Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Provides in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. This online resource includes the second print edition Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG), published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.

Provides access to e-books in the Cambridge Companion series for composers, instrumental music, opera, popular music, and more.. The essays are written by scholars in that field and provide background information and an analysis of the topic selected, offering a good starting point for research. 

Covers a wide range of African American musical expression, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms through essays, biographies, discographies, interviews, images, lyrics and scores

Offers thousands of pages of reference materials on western classical music from many sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference works on individual composers, etc. Spans the entire history of Western classical music, and brings together in one database authoritative reference titles like Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Provides integrated online access to the ten-volume Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (audio and print editions available in the Fine Arts Library). Covers cultural music from all areas of the planet including genres, instruments, places, people, ensembles, and cultural groups. Includes audio examples. Alexander Street Press.