Guides: ARTH 4365.01 Italian Renaissance Art History: Scholarly Research on Objects Exhibited

Locating and Acquiring Exhibition Catalogs

As we talked in class today about your work finding and acquiring exhibition catalogs, it became clear that I should prioritize your access to ---> (click here) WORLDCAT

Finding literature

Art & architecture source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete.
Art index retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides access to mid 20th-century art history literature and contemporary criticism of art through periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins. Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 (published between 1929 and 1984).
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for journal articles, monographs, collections of essays, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogs in the arts. Provides access to two art literature databases: BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art) covering the years 1990-2007 and RILA (Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art), covering 1975-1989. Includes abstracts and subject terms. Covers visual arts in all media including traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture), decorative and applied arts, material culture, photography and contemporary new media, and visual arts aspects of the performing arts. Includes European art from late Antiquity to the present, American art from the European arrival to the present, and Christian and, European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia.
Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1973. The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.

OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.
Allows you to find books to request through OsoFast/InterLibraryLoan

Finding images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Bridgeman Images
Source for video, photographs and illustration from the past and present worlds of art, culture and history.

Oxford art online This link opens in a new window
Serves as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Oxford University Press.
Art & architecture source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete.

Catalogues raisonné

What is a catalogue raisonné?

A catalogue raisonné is a publication representing an artist's work, either in total or by medium, or of a certain period. This type of catalogue usually includes a high quality reproduction of each work, along with important information about the work such as its history, provenance (where it was created and the history of of its historical and/or current custody), and technical aspects (medium, materials, dimensions, etc.). Catalogues Raisonné also provide important bibliographic information on the the works, the artists, and exhibitions.

Finding catalogues raisonné

Click here to find catalogues raisonné in the Baylor Libraries. Not all publications will include the term in the title, so this link will search the term as a subject heading in the librarie's catalog. These will be located in the Arts & Special Collections Research Center on the third floor of Moody Library. Some of these books will be in the reference collection and some in the circulating collection (either will be indicated in the location/call number, but you can also get assistance at the Arts & Special Collections Research Center.

Background information

Oxford art online This link opens in a new window
Serves as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Oxford University Press.
Oxford dictionary of the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, including art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. Significant biographical entries covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers.

Timelines of art

Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Timelines of World Art (from Oxford Art)
Review significant moments in art history from all over the globe. The timelines feature brief summaries of important events in the visual arts; many of the summaries are accompanied by an image, and all link to articles in Grove Art Online for further reading.

ARTH 4365.01 Italian Renaissance Art History