Accessibility

Video accessibility ensures that all learners are able to utilize the materials provided. When looking for accessible materials, you should look for the following:

Videos

When looking for accessible videos, you should check to see that the video includes closed captioning. Many videos, especially those found on YouTube, will include auto-generated captions. These are not considered accessible due to the inaccuracies that occur.

To be considered accessible, captions should:

• Be edited and include proper punctuation
• Identify speakers, if more than one
• Identify audible information (ex. police sirens, fire alarms, music playing) 

Please note that a video with incorrect captions is not considered accessible. All services that auto-generate captions will have errors that must be corrected. Be careful when pulling in videos from outside sources that say "auto-generated".

Audio Only Files (Podcasts)

Audio only files should include a full transcript of the audio. All audible information should be included.

To be considered accessible, transcripts should:

• Be edited and include proper punctuation
• Identify speakers, if more than one
• Identify audible information (ex. police sirens, fire alarms, music playing) 

WebAim: Captions, Transcripts, and Audio Descriptions

WebAim provides an overview of captions, transcripts, and audio descriptions. Use this resource to understand the differences and find out what quality captions, transcripts, and audio descriptions look like. 

• Captions, Transcripts, and Audio Descriptions

Kaltura

Kaltura will automatically add captions and a transcripts to the videos uploaded. Auto-generated captions such as these will have mistakes that must be corrected in order to consider the content accessible. Take a look at Kaltura's caption editing guide to learn more. 

• Editing Captions in Kaltura

Databases

Alexander Street is a media platform provided to Baylor by Clarivate (formerly ProQuest). Alexander Street creates and curates a wide range of academic content that includes websites and streaming media for learning and research.

Synchronized captions and transcripts are available for the majority of video content, but audio descriptions are not available. Please individually check the specific videos that are selected. For further information on Alexander Street Accessibility, review the Alexander Street VPAT document. 

• Alexander Street VPAT 

Kanopy Provides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.

Kanopy provides captions, but they may not be synchronized. Please individually check the specific videos that are selected. For more information on Kanopy accessibility, review the documents below:

• Kanopy Accessibility
• Kanopy VPAT

Swank Digital Campus (SDC, Digital Campus) Provides access to 1000 of the top academic streaming videos and documentaries “solely for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study” (no public performance use). Simple search by film title, use advanced search for names of cast or director. Browse by title, release date, or category (documentary, war, sci-fi, etc.), includes some foreign language films. Links to films and documentaries may be copied and placed in Canvas to assign them for viewing by students. Registration for instructors required on first use (to gain additional functionality) and recommended for students for convenience.

Captions are provided for most of the content available, but not all. Please individually check the specific videos that are selected. For more information on Swank Digital Campus accessibility, review the resources below: 

• Swank Digital Campus Accessibility Features
• Swank Digital Campus VPAT