Guides: Accessibility : E-books

E-book Accessibility

The Baylor libraries offer access to a wide variety of databases that include E-book content, with our major databases being ProQuest eBook Central, EBSCO eBook Collection, and JSTOR. Accessibility options will vary for each database, with some offering in-platform accessibility such as magnification, text reflow, keyboard navigation, narration, and screen reader compatibility. The majority of our E-book databases will include offline reading options, allowing users full book downloads in either PDF or EPUB format, or individual PDF chapter downloads.

E-book Formats and Accessibility

EPUB: The EPUB format is composed of HTML5 and CSS3, allowing it to offer a high degree of accessibility to users such as enhanced navigation, document structure and tagging, re-flowable content, text-to-speech compatibility, and is supported by the majority of e-readers.

PDF: Accessibility of PDF formats will vary depending on the E-book publisher or database hosting their E-book content. Accessible PDFs will include but are not limited to the following features: searchable text, semantic structure and proper tagging, navigation ability, compatibility with assistive technology, and alternative text description. To determine PDF accessibility for a specific E-book database, please refer to the linked policies and guides provided below in the E-book Accessibility Guides and Resources section.

E-book reader software

Adobe Acrobat Reader: This product allows you to view PDF files such as whole E-book or individual chapter downloads, and offers built in accessibility tools such as Read Out Loud, which is a Text-to-Speech software. Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded here.

Adobe Acrobat Accessibility Features

Adobe Digital Editions: This product offers E-book reading for both PDF and EPUB downloads. Digital Editions does not have built in accessibility features such as Text-to-Speech, high contrast modes and resizing book text, but instead relies on Windows and Mac operating systems to provide these accessibility options. This software will work with screen readers such as JAWS, NVDA, and VoiceOver. Adobe Digital Editions can be downloaded here.

Getting Started with Adobe Digital Editions

E-book Accessibility Guides and Resources

Cambridge Core

Includes the majority of their E-books in both PDF and HTML formats that are compatible with in browser text to speech tools as well as screen readers such as Jaws and NVDA.

Cambridge Core Accessibility Guide

EBSCO eBook Collection

Provides E-books in both PDF and EPUB format. E-books can be read both online, using the online book viewer which utilizes EPUB content, or offline by downloading titles in either PDF or EPUB format.

Gale Ebooks

Offers a "textview" option for their E-books, which provides HTML text of the title that can be read online. For offline reading, there is a pdf download option.

Gale Accessibility Policy

JSTOR

Offers eBooks in accessible PDF format that can be downloaded for offline reading. Full eBook downloads are not available, however, JSTOR does offers unlimited chapter downloads.

JSTOR Accessibility Policies

Oxford University Press

Offers the majority of their content in both PDF and HTML format. Online reading consists of HTML content, with an offline reading option to download an OCR pdf, which will work with screen reader software.

Oxford Academic Accessibility

Project Muse

Includes a pdf download option for E-books, as well as an online viewing option for HTML content after creating a personal account.

Accessibility on Muse

ProQuest Ebook Central

Provides books in both EPUB and PDF format. To enable the use of a screen reader when reading online, "Text Only Mode" can be enabled using either your screen reader software, or going into the user profile settings and choosing "Enable Text Only Mode." Users will need to sign in with their Baylor credentials to access the profile settings.