Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved.
Report It | Title IX | Mental Health Resources | Anonymous Reporting | Legal Disclosures
Baylor Libraries provide access to a wide variety of databases, from many different companies. Visit the A-Z List to see what databases are available through the library.
Many database companies have taken action to make their online resources accessible for all users. These companies generally work to conform to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) and are in compliance with the Rehabilitation Act Section 508. Information about these accessibility standards can be found here:
Accessibility statements and information about accessibility features for some of the major database companies can be found below.
EBSCOHost is a major database provider. EBSCO products, including EBSCOHost databases implement accessibility features such as text-to-speech functionality on full text HTML articles, transcripts for videos and audiobooks, keyboard only access, and alt-text for meaningful images.
ProQuest is another major provider of library databases. ProQuest continually checks the accessibility of their databases through a range of automated and manual checks, which check for features such as color contrast, keyboard access, and screen reader compatibility. Each ProQuest database has an individual accessibility statement. These can be found in the Accessibility Directory linked below.
Gale is committed to making its products accessible and user-friendly in conformance with accessibility guidelines mentioned in the above section. Gale does both automated and manual accessibility testing on its resources, and welcomes feedback from libraries and users on accessibility features at Accessibility.Gale@cengage.com.
Elsevier publishes many journals and databases, and Baylor has access to many of these resources. Elsevier is committed to making these resources accessible to all users. They use accessibility testing tools to ensure that all digital products and services are perceivable, operable, understandable and robust for all users.
AM (Formerly Adam Matthew) is a major provider of library primary source materials. AM works to make their resources accessible to all users through continuous improvement to meet and expand on industry standards. Their Quartex platform allows users, such as Baylor's digital collections, to make accessible design choices for their sites.
Oxford University Press (OUP) is a major publisher of scholarly databases and journals. OUP is committed to making their publications available to as many readers as possible. Oxford content is has accessibility features such as compliant contrast levels, screen reader functionality, keyboard navigation, ant text-to-speech compatibility.
Other Database Accessibility Information
Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved.
Report It | Title IX | Mental Health Resources | Anonymous Reporting | Legal Disclosures