Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rel 1310: Christian Scriptures: Citations

Resources to help you navigate the library for your Rel 1310 Christian Scriptures course.

SBL Handbook of Style Resources

The SBL Handbook of Style (hereafter Handbook) is based on the conventional footnote and bibliography referencing format. The Handbook's chapter on "Notes and Bibliographies" includes formatting rules and  21 pages of examples (46-67).

Below is a list of supplements, short guides and tools to help you navigate the finer points of SBL Handbook style.

Student Supplement for the SBL Handbook of Style, Revised 2015

This resource (hereafter Supplement) provides important updates to the Handbook, especially regarding the citation of electronic sources (see 1.6 Citation of Electronic Sources).

SBL Quick Reference (John Brown University Library)

The Quick Reference is a 2 page pdf crib sheet of the most common citations encountered. Good for grasping the basic formatting requirements of routine citation issues. Less helpful for more complicated citation issues (refer to the Handbook for these).

For advice on citation of electronic sources, prefer the Supplement to the Quick Reference.

SBL Handbook Footnote Rules (Perspectives in Religious Studies)

A longer and more detailed pdf list of common Handbook citation style issues and examples (than the Quick Reference) prepared for prospective contributors to the journal Perspectives in Religious Studies.

SBL Style for Documenting Sources (Good Library, Goshen College)

Another list of commonly encountered Handbook style citation examples.

SBL Citation Builder  (Pitts Theology Library, Emory University)

This clever application allows you to input all of the bibliographic details of your source into a template which then converts your data into a correctly formatted Handbook style citation. Brilliant!

Citation Manuals

There are a number of citation manuals, which are used by the various academic disciplines. Some of the common citation manuals are:

Different style manual guidelines may arrange the elements of a citation in different ways. This is because each discipline places a different value on the different elements in a citation. When in doubt about how to create your citation, check your style manual. If you are not sure of which style manual to use, ask your professor which one he or she prefers.

 

 

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702