Searching for theatre dictionaries and encyclopedias
To locate specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias specifically related to theatre, use an advanced search in OneSearch and search for the following as a subject search:
- theater - terminology
- theater - dictionaries
- theater - encyclopedias
examples of theatre encyclopedias & dictionaries
Broadway: an encyclopedia of theater and American culture by Call Number: Moody General Collection PN2277.N5 B62 2010ISBN: 9780313342646Publication Date: 2009Spanning the era from the mid-19th century to the present with entries on a variety of topics, including spotlights on landmark productions; thematic essays on the impact of theater on American life, with entries on race relations, women in society, sexuality, film, media, technology, tourism, and off-Broadway and noncommercial theater; profile entries on key persons and institutions; timeline of major events; glossary of selected production and business terms Includes an index of names, productions, and themes.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by Call Number: Jones Reference Ref. PN2860 .E53 2007ISBN: 031333529XPublication Date: 2006Detailed and authoritative survey of traditional and contemporary Asian theatre. Covers individuals, genres and forms, regional theatres, and special topics. Cites numerous works for further reading Includes extensive cross-references.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by Call Number: Jones Reference Ref. PQ7082.D7 E63 2003ISBN: 0313290415Publication Date: 2003This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. The volume begins with an overview of the development of theater in Latin America. Each of the country sections begins with an introductory survey and concludes with copious bibliographical information. The entries for playwrights provide factual information about the dramatist's life and works and place the author within the larger context of international literature. Each entry closes with a list of works by and about the playwright. A selected, general bibliography appears at the end of the volume.
Historical Dictionary of African American Theater by ISBN: 1538117282Publication Date: 2018Covering nearly 200 years of black theater in the United States and the thousands of black theater artists across the country--identifying representative black theaters, playwrights, plays, actors, directors, and designers and chronicling their contributions to the field from the birth of black theater in 1816 to the present. Contains a chronology, introduction, appendixes, and extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on actors, playwrights, plays, musicals, theatres, directors, and designers.
