Guides: HIS 1300: The U.S. in Global Perspective: Timeline JS: Reference Sources

Starting Point Reference Sources

CREDO
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Offers topic pages that provide background information on a topic and mind maps that show relationships between topics. Search results may include images, video clips, and maps. Also displays links to related and specialized library databases allowing users to select other library databases for further topic exploration.
Cambridge Histories
Provides online, searchable access to the well-known Cambridge History series. This series provides excellent essays on all aspects of history from classical to medieval to modern, including histories of science, religion, language, economics, the book, publishing, theater, literature, warfare, music, philosophy, politics, and regional studies. Scholarly, authoritative, includes bibliographies for further study.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in OneSearh

Using the Advanced Search in OneSearch, you can enter your keywords (the subject for which you are looking for a dictionary or encyclopedia) on the first line and then put "Encyclopedias" or "Dictionaries" on the next line and in the "Any Field" drop down box, choose "Subject." On the right hand side, under "Material type" choose "Books."

Oxford Bibliographies

Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes.
African American studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African-American culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
African studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Atlantic history - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Chinese studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Chinese culture history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Latin American studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American studies. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Latino studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latino studies and the Hispanic minority in the United States. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Medieval studies - Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Military history - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Renaissance and Reformation - Oxford bibliographies. This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.

HIS 1300: The U.S. in Global Perspective: Timeline JS

Starting Point Reference Sources

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in OneSearh

Oxford Bibliographies

University Libraries