THEA 2374 Theatre History I

Provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Comprised of the Berg Fashion Library which provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history and the Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases which provides real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion.

Provides access to cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide.

A complete searchable archive of Vogue (U.S. edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. 

Provides access to material from the Shakespeares Globe Performance and Architectural Archives, which shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved, and the theatre history and performance lessons that were observed and learned, along with information on about 170 different plays, concerts or events and over 400 different productions of these plays. The architectural archive includes material on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions, as well as material on the theatres annual reports, communications to its supporters, and oral histories detailing some of the early history of the reconstructed theatre. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, play, document type, season, theater, author and director. Limits for Image Gallery. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.

Provides insight into the theatrical world of eighteenth century society and explores how the Larpent plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history. Features three distinct areas: Primary source documents, the focus of which is the Larpent collection of plays and Anna Larpent's Diaries; the London Stage Database; and the Biographical Dictionary Database. Adam Matthew

Provides full text copies of plays, farces, operatic and musical dramas, burlesques, and other forms of theatrical entertainment which appeared on the American stage between 1820-1900. Keyword and advanced search features, with limits for subject, author, place of publication, language, and genre. Readex.

Provides high-definition recordings of top British theatre, music, and dance productions. A collection of interviews offers insights on acting, directing, design, and tech theatre.

This collection from New York’s Metropolitan Opera provides performances on video from 1977 to present, some in high-definition. Also included are more than 300 audio-only recordings of live performances dating back as far as 1936. Can be searched by title, composer, vocal artist, and conductor. A synopsis and optional subtitles are provided for each opera, program notes and other supplementary materials are available for some. Library access to this collection does not include the iPad app that is available to individual subscribers.

A multimedia database developed in collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre that offers a range of digital performance resources from the National Theatre's archive. Digitized archival materials are presented alongside videos to present a holistic view of the stagecraft involved in supporting world-class productions.

Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. High quality versions of films have been selected for the collection from leading distributors such as Kino Lorber, Lobster Films, Flicker Alley, and Image Entertainment. Alexander Street Press.

Covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history with online streaming video. Includes live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances. Also includes new, international, and contemporary performances, ground-breaking documentaries, and critical instructional series for theatre and drama programs across the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience. Plays range from classical Greek to the 20th century. Alexander Street Press

Dance in Video provides online access to hundreds of hours of dance productions, as well as dozens of documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos. The collection features some of the most influential companies and artists of the twentieth century, and includes a diversity of styles: ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational. Search criteria can include role, genre, ensemble, time period, venue, date of recording, and more. Available features include custom playlists and clips, permanent URLs, and viewing on mobile devices. Alexander Street Press

Provides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.