Search Using OneSearch
We recommend you begin your search for resources using the library catalog's OneSearch.
OneSearch will give results for resources of all formats, including books and articles. While OneSearch will give you a list of all the materials physically in our libraries, it will only display some of the articles, scores, and recordings made available to you online. Once you've exhausted OneSearch, you can also search specialized databases, detailed below.
Using OneSearch
Searching Using Databases
-
ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637.
-
Gale OneFile Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research for the disciplines of drama, music, art history, and film making.
-
Humanities source This link opens in a new window
Indexes the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
-
Humanities full text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities.
-
World Shakespeare bibliography online This link opens in a new windowProvides a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide. Containing over 127 500 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England. Begun in 1950 as a bibliographical supplement to Shakespeare Quarterly, the World Shakespeare Bibliography (WSB) has expanded over the years to become a searchable electronic database that allows users unparalleled access to Shakespeare-related material. Folger Shakespeare Library.
-
Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for the core journals in the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication as well as non-core journals in additional fields which extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field.
-
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
Evaluating Sources
Click on the image below to begin the module on Authoritative Sources.
Once you find a source, you can evaluate its authority by responding to the following questions:
-
1. Do(es) the author(s) of the article appear to use bias language that favors one position over another for reasons not related to the issue itself?
-
2. Do(es) the author(s) support their claims with evidence? (hint-what does the works cited list look like?)
-
3. Who published the source? (Remember that the platform from which the authority communicates affects the usefulness of the information for your research).
-
4. Based on the previous three questions, do you think that your source is authoritative?
-
5. Considering the context of your research, will you use this source for your paper?
-
