Getting the full text of articles
If the article that you find in the MLA International Bibliography, or another article database doesn't include the full text of the article in PDF or HTML form, use the 
button to get access to the full text in another database, or to find a link to order it using OsoFast, our InterLibrary Loan service, where we can get the article in PDF form from another library.
Finding Criticism
MLA International Bibliography
To find criticism of a literary work, search the MLA International Bibliography for your topic, author or literary work. You can combine keywords (i.e. "Gabriel Garcia Marquez" and "magical realism") to limit your list of results. You can also limit your results by language.
To narrow things down, you can also choose to search with the fields "Primary Subject Author" (for your author) and "Primary Subject Work" (for the work of literature).
- MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. MLA indexers review books, journals, and Web sites for material that relates to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. EBSCOhost.
Advanced OneSearch
You can also find literary criticism on your author or work in OneSearch by performing a subject search with this formula
You can use OneSearch to find primary sources. You can do a keyword search for the name of the person, but a more focused way to search for biographical sources is to choose "Library Catalog" at the top of the search page, choose "Subject" from the drop down list, and then put the name of the person in the search box in this format "LastName, FirstName" (ex. "Allende, Isabel") and then choose "Subject" on the next line and put in the term "Criticism and Interpretation".
The results will be all the materials we have in the library that are about that author and his or her works. Some of those materials may be a single-authored book about the topic, some of them may be edited volumes, where each chapter has a different author.
