Databases
Select Mechanical Engineering Databases
- ASME digital collecton This link opens in a new window Indexes journals, e-books and conference proceedings published by ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) and ASTM (forrmerly American Society for Testing and Materials).
- Inspec This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles, conferences, monographs, preprints, reports, magazines, dissertations, and patents in physics; electrical and electronic engineering; computing; control engineering; information technology; mechanical engineering; and production and manufacturing.
- AIAA This link opens in a new window Indexes books, articles, meeting papers, and standards published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window Provides access to engineering reference and teaching materials that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. With this resource, you can: search the latest editions of engineering handbooks such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as hundreds of other expert references; access upper-level engineering textbooks; use DataVis, an interactive data visualization tool for material properties; solve complex engineering equations with downloadable Excel spreadsheets; watch engineering solutions ithrough hundreds of faculty-created videos; analyze key data with interactive graphs and downloadable tables; browse content by subject, industry, or course; and organize project information with personalization tools.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new window Provides market research reports and forecasts in 25 distinct verticals and provides more information through partnerships with other market research providers.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- JoVE This link opens in a new window Provides peer-reviewed scientific videos journal articles. Articles consist of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols.
List of all Engineering Database Links
Journals
Selected Mechanical Engineering Journals
Selected Mechanical Engineering Journal Collections
Mechanical Engineering Journals subscribed by Baylor University Libraries
Books
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by
The 100th Anniversary Edition of the Cornerstone Text of Mechanical Engineering--Fully Revised to Focus on the Core Subjects Critical to the Discipline This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing. Coverage includes: * Mechanics of solids and fluids * Heat * Strength of materials * Materials of engineering * Fuels and furnaces * Machine elements * Power generation * Transportation * Fans, pumps, and compressors * Instruments and controls * Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics * Applied mechanics * Engineering ethics
Call Number: TJ151 .M37ISBN: 1259588505Publication Date: 2017
Machinery's handbook by
One of the Bibles of the mechanical industries. Access provided via Knovel.
ISBN: 9780831130992Publication Date: 2016
OER - Engineering
- Open Textbooks for EngineeringRepository of OER materials in engineering fields compiled and maintained by the Engineering Libraries Division of the American Society for Engineering Education (ELD-ASEE). Our listing of open textbooks is organized by engineering discipline. To browse resources within a discipline, select the appropriate icon below. Note that some specific disciplines have been grouped within a larger discipline (e.g., transportation engineering texts can be found in civil & environmental engineering). If you don't find a needed discipline, try the search icon, which will connect you to the Mason OER Metafinder search engine.
Other Resources or Related Information
Associated research guides
Preprint Archives and E-Print Repositories
- EngrXiv engrXiv (engineering archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, and in partnership with the Center for Open Science
- EngRN - Engineering Research Network EngRN is Elsevier's dedicated engineering network for sharing early stage research such as preprints, working papers and data. You need to register on the SSRN platform and subscribe to the EngRN network in your preferences, but registration and access is free.
- MobilityRxiv Provided by SAE International, the SAE MobilityRxiv™ (pronounced “mobility archive”) is a free online archive and sharing service for English-language preprints in the mobility/transportation field. Preprints are defined as manuscripts (including white papers, theses, and dissertations) that are not under consideration or published by any journal or other publication and that have not yet undergone peer review. This service allows researchers and other readers to read and comment on a manuscript immediately without waiting for formal peer review. MobilityRxiv works best in Microsoft Edge, Chrome, and Firefox. Readers and authors are advised and cautioned that manuscripts on MobilityRxiv are not in a final state, have not been peer reviewed, may contain errors, have not been accepted or approved by the scientific community, and are subject to change. By submitting a manuscript to MobilityRxiv, authors are able to receive comments and feedback from the mobility/transportation community before submitting a manuscript to a journal or other publication. Once a manuscript is posted, it will receive a DOI that makes the manuscript citable, discoverable, and indexed, which in turn does not allow for the article to be removed from the site, except under extraordinary circumstances. Should a preprint be removed, a retraction notice will be posted in most cases.
Miscellaneous Industry Resources
- eFunda - Engineering Fundamentals An online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs. eFunda is all about the basics, for most part, that means college level material covered in engineering schools. If you practice engineering, more often than not you would find yourself searching for something you knew but could not quite remember. eFunda wants to be your reminder of these formulas. Not only that, eFunda wants to tell you exactly under what conditions those formulas apply, so you don't have to read an entire chapter of the good old textbook.
- Online Ethics Center for Engineering & Science The Online Ethics Center (OEC) is a resource maintained by the Center for Engineering Ethics and Society (CEES) at the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). The OEC mission is to provide engineers, scientists, faculty, and students with resources for understanding and addressing ethically significant issues that arise in scientific and engineering practice and from the developments of science and engineering; and serve those who promote learning and advance understanding of responsible research and practice in engineering and science.
- National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. As a principal federal statistical agency, NCSES serves as a clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, analysis, and dissemination of objective science and engineering data.
- ThomasNetSearch ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers. Users can set up profiles to save searches and supplier information for quick access.
TeX and LaTeX
TeX - high-quality digital typesetting system created by Don Knuth
LaTeX - document preparation system created by Leslie Lamport. Uses TeX to facilitate the production of technical and scientific documentation with robust support for mathematical formulae and scientific equation display. One of the most popular manuscript production systems in STEM fields.
Latest LaTeX development information
- The LaTeX Project Official home of the LaTeX development team
Get TeX and LaTeX packages
- GitHub LaTeX repository - FREE GitHub repository maintained by the LaTeX3 Project team.
- CTAN's LaTeX repository - FREE Primary distribution hub for LaTeX and TeX systems.
- Overleaf - FREE (personal use) Online LaTeX production tool. Does not require installation of LaTeX and TeX packages to use.
TeX and LaTeX Communities
- TeX Users Group - TUG The TeX Users Group (TUG) is a membership-based not-for-profit organization founded in 1980, for those who are interested in typography and font design, and/or are users of the TeX typesetting system created by Donald Knuth.
- The Comprehensive TeX Archive Network - CTAN The Comprehensive TEX Archive Network (CTAN) is the central place for all kinds of material around TEX
Documentation, Guides, and Books
- Zotero and LaTeXBrief guide on using Zotero to manage citations and prepare bibliographies for export into LaTeX and BibTeX .
- LaTeX Cheat Sheet Quick reference guide by Winston Chang
Video tutorials
