Guides: Museum Studies : Intro to Cultural Collections: Topic: Slavery in the Transatlantic World

Slavery in America

Black abolitionist papers

A unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Over 15 000 items -- articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists -- show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
Slavery & anti-slavery : a transnational archive

A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. It consists of "Debates over Slavery and Abolition", "Slave Trade in the Atlantic World", "Institution of Slavery", and "Age of Emancipation". All parts are cross-searchable through a single interface. Gale.
Slavery abolition & social justice

This resource on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition brings together original manuscript and rare printed material (manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images) from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of Slavery Today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice. All printed items are full text searchable and manuscripts have document level indexing.