A-Z Databases

Provides access to millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th -21st centuries. Users can browse within individual AM primary source collections as well as search across the entire platform. Filter collections by theme, time period and region. Adam Matthew Digital. 

A comprehensive reference work that explores the history and diversity of the global Pentecostal movement. This authoritative encyclopedia covers various disciplines and provides extensive information on Pentecostalism's origins, notable figures, theological perspectives, and practices, as well as its global expansion. The articles within are written by esteemed scholars and offer in-depth analysis of Pentecostalism's impact on societies, cultures, and religious landscapes worldwide. Brill.

A reference work that explores the medieval period from the 5th to the 15th century. This encyclopedia provides information on various aspects of medieval history, including politics, culture, religion, literature, and more. With over 5,000 entries it presents analyses and insights into key topics and figures of the era. The encyclopedia offers keyword and advanced search capabilities, and searches can be refined based on authors, subjects, or dates. Brill.

Provides access to official government documents from the National Archives, UK covering the Cobbold Commission, the end of the Malayan Emergency and tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism. Module I covers 1963-1966. Module II covers 1968-1980. Search by keyword, filter by date, region, document type, specific department or office. Adam Matthew Digital.

Provides access to directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation between 1980 and 2010 and responses by the public, documenting everyday experiences, thoughts and opinions of people living during this time. Directives cover broad themes including current events, friends and family, the home, leisure, politics, society, culture and the media, work, finance and the economy and new technology. Sourced from the Mass Observation Archive. Module I covers the 1980s, Module II the 1990s, and Module III the 2000s (through 2009). Browse by directive and filter by key topics and observer. Advanced search features available. Adam Matthew Digital.

Provides digital access to materials from the archive of the John Murray publishing company. Sourced from the National Library of Scotland. The archive includes correspondence, advertisements, diaries, and official records from 1768-1900. Key figures include Lord Byron, Charles Darwin, David Livingstone, Sir Walter Scott, Jane Austen, and others. Search by keyword, title or author with filters for date, them, document type, and key figures. Adam Matthew Digital

Documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty. Sourced from the National Archives, UK, the British Library, and Senate House Library. Search by keyword with filters for topic, document type, and source. Adam Matthew Digital